Safari Trip Adventure.

Hey Guys, Me and my boyfriend took a day out of the ordinary to go on a trip, just the two of us, for a little fun. It was a birthday present from him, and I would like to share the experience with you.

We went to Longleat Safari, if you don’t know what that is I have a link here, but its a safari park with animals and an outside area with activities and a large house to look around – although we didn’t think you could go inside until we was already on the route home! We left at 9 to arrive there for 10:30 for the giraffe feeding. Giraffes are my favourite animal and have been ever since I was younger, so to get the chance to feed them was an amazing experience. We purchased two twigs with leaves on, and I went onto the little balcony to feed them. We then took a walk into the Lemur enclosure, and seen them all playing and sleeping. We then got back into the car and continued on to the safari ride. The first animals we were the Flamingos, and I have not seen flamingos quite so pink before! I know they’re supposed to be, but the others I have seen were more pastel pink, but these were a very bright pink. We then bypassed the monkeys – He is very careful of his car! So we went through onto the Rhino’s and Camels. I never realised how camels humps can just flop, they were just kind of there looking a little limp on some of them! I’m not sure if that’s normal? Next up was the Deer. These were another interactive animal that you can feed. We both took a cup of food each and let them put their heads in the car while we fed them from our hands. This was a weird experience as they use their tongues a lot while eating, when its coming straight out of your hand its weird. They gave you a sanitary wipe for afterwards as well, which I thought was lovely as their saliva was kind of everywhere. After feed the deer we went along into the Lion and Tiger enclosure. This was his favourite part as he loves the big cats, and I must admit I am a sucker for cats, of any kind! The tigers were a little hard to see, but the lions were all together and there was a lot of them. The Cheetahs – which were after, were my favourite of the big cats. There was two young ones – Winston and Poppy, and these were playing and running around after each other which was a cute thing to witness.

We then parked up and headed to the café, grabbed a little something for lunch and did the pedestrian side of things. The first thing we did was a look into the bat cave. He wasn’t a big fan of this, but I loved seeing them so close up! We then went onto see penguins, which were in a little area that you could walk through. This was pretty cool, but I don’t think ill be doing that again any time soon. The next walk through animals we seen was the Meerkats. I liked these ones as they was just walking across the path we was walking on, as well as seeing them dig and take watch in the sand. The last animal enclosure we went into was the Butterfly house. I have a little extra loving for these insects as I think they’re beautiful – I also have them tattooed on me! We was then on the lookout for the Hedge maze, when we came across a small mirror maze, which is always a fun activity. We completed that, with great difficulty. Then found the Hedge maze, and had a go on that one. Now I am useless with directions at the best of times, and when it comes to a maze I am NOT the person to take with you! Every turn looked the same, and if it wasn’t for Sam I don’t think I would have ever got out!

The last part was the Shop and a little handling centre where you can hold some animals. I held a snake, for the first time! I always thought I would be okay if someone had ever asked me to hold one, as I don’t have a fear of them. But when you’re face-to-face with one and its being put into your hands its little frightening. It was only a small one, which is of course not able to harm you, but its still a bit overwhelming. We then took ourselves to the shop where I purchased a snake – in memory of the snake I held – Carlos. As well as buying a lollipop and a gobstopper – because, yes, I am still a child with an extremely sweet tooth!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Have you ever been to Longleat? If so, what was your experience like? Thanks for reading, Jade xo

One thought on “Safari Trip Adventure.

Leave a Reply

